I am a Creature of the Night, Fear Me. Or Hug me.

Welp, here I am, awake and blogging in the middle of the night while feeling awful. It’s not a wise move, what with work in the morning, but for the moment it can’t be helped. When I lay down, I start coughing, which is a new symptom of the virus that has been setting off tiny fog machines in my head since Friday. The down side of sharing a bed with another human being is that I can’t, in good conscience, spend the night hacking and spluttering away next to said human being. Jeez, when did I become so considerate, who the fuck am I? So I’m currently awake-ish, sipping a hot lemon tea and waiting for the cough syrup to kick in, and hopefully knock me out cold.

On the bright side, I think this is the first time I’ve been sick for more than a day or two (physical sick, not head sick, I’m always head sick) since before Christmas, which is a personal record.  My immune system might finally be sorting itself out. Long time readers of my Jenny Sangster Jewellery blog might remember that there was a time when I was sick almost constantly, picking up every virus or infection that I came in to contact with as a complication of hepatitis and/or chronic fatigue. In fact, this time last year, I was hit with a trifecta of bronchitis, conjunctivitis and tonsilitis, during which my hair fell out and my nails stopped growing.

4509075265_4ef5d76a33_b

Is it kombucha, or is it a scalp soaking in formaldehyde?

 

I’m no totally sure, but one of the things that I have changed, is that I now brew and drink my own kombucha. Kombucha is basically fermented tea, containing friendly probiotics and is said to promote overall health.  Don’t worry, I’m not going to turn infomercial on you and bleat on about the benefits of kombucha and why it will make your miserable existence bearable again. Hell, it might not have anything at all to do with my apparent improving health, but it can’t hurt so I’m gonna approach this the same way I approach everything: keep drinking and hope for the best.

Leave a Reply

