Admitting You Have a Problem is the First Step

I love animals. I love them so much and I wish I could adopt them all. I feel compelled to pet any animal I see, but sometimes I manage to resist this compulsion, otherwise they’d never allow me to visit the zoo.  Although I did get bitten by a zebra once because I simply couldn’t help myself. But it was ok, she was really old and didn’t have many teeth left.

I have been known to cuddle wild hedgehogs, they’re not as spiky as you might think. Rats are my weakness, I can’t say no to them, so I have banned myself from pet shops because I just don’t have time to train a rat right now. I’d love to have a goat, a dog, a pig, a duck, a rabbit and anything else that I could legally keep, but I can’t, it’s just not practical. Two cats and a bird is enough for now.

Oh, look! He's smiling at me. Can I touch him?

Oh, look! He’s smiling at me. Can I touch him?

After Zakky cat died, I said “No more, I”m done, I’m going to be good and not get any more animals”. But every day, looking back at me from my computer screen, were kittens from the local SPCA Facebook page. I fell in love with them all. Especially one beautiful little boy, Tom. I couldn’t help myself, I bought him home six months ago and named him Stalin, and I love him to bits.

10924671_764596293618137_1369243563122441022_o

Stalin (formerly “Tom”) and his brother “Jerry”.

Yesterday, I fell for another beautiful cat, but I just can’t have another cat right now. I’m too busy, vet bills are expensive, my old kitty Krank deserves some peace from the exuberance of youth. I had to unfriend the SPCA. I’m sorry SPCA, but our relationship was an unhealthy one, you were an enabler. It wasn’t really your fault, you are what you are, and we must go our separate ways. Perhaps someday, we will meet again.

Leave a Reply

