Today I Gave my Kid Amphetamines

My daughter has ADHD. It’s a condition in which everyone is an expert and knows better than silly old me. If I had a nickel for every time someone told me,

“Don’t give her drugs, it’ll turn her into a zombie.”

“Teachers just want parents to sedate kids so there jobs are easier.”

Or my favourite,  “There’s no such thing,  it’s just a made up syndrome to excuse bad behaviour.”

Well, then I’d have a lot of nickels to put in a sock, which I could use to smash the teeth of these morons down their stupid throats.

ad-hd-highway-to-hey-look-a-squirrel-t-shirt.

Truth is, these medications aren’t going to suit every kid,  but when they do, they work well.  I’m not going to waste my time attempting to explain the physiology of ADHD, other than to say it’s not exclusively a behavioural problem.

If you are going to have a strong opinion on the subject, please make sure you properly educate yourself before espousing your “advice” to parents who been to dozens of appointments with medical and psychological professionals. In fact, that goes for any condition. Autism,  OCD, PTSD, depression, tourettes,  narcolepsy,  schizophrenia,  herpes; if you don’t know what you’re talking about, don’t give advice! But if you’re curious, or want to learn more, just ask. Really, it’s ok. Unless you’re curious about herpes, then you can ask WebMD, I don’t want to hear about your messed up junk..

2 thoughts on “Today I Gave my Kid Amphetamines

  1. My eldest was diagnosed ADD in grade 1 and because of judgemental people I delayed putting him on medication till grade 4. This certainly delayed his learning and given my time again I would allow him to be given medication earlier. A week on meds I asked my son had he noticed anything. He didn’t feel it had but he complained of not having his visions. Instantly I was on alert particularly with him being in a catholic school. He described it like this. Before he started his medications he could see things in his head. He said it was like surfing the TV channels. I knew we were on the right track. The medications allowed him to turn the TV off in his head and allow him to concentrate on schoolwork. He is now 25, is an extremely intelligent young man and is none the worse for having been on medications. He ceased taking the meds in grade 11.

    Like

    • What a great description! These kids often come in to the world with a high intelligence, but their full potential is smothered under all that inner chaos. I’m glad to hear your son is doing well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

