Employment!

And so ends my first week back in the workforce. Fifteen hours of minimum wage spread over two jobs. It’s a pittance, but it’s a pittance I’m incredibly grateful for. Sure it may not be enough to make ends meet, but it’s a start, and we’ve got to start somewhere. I can also count amongst my blessings, that both of my employers are extremely family oriented and understanding. I even got to bring my ill child along to one of my jobs where she watched her favourite movie while I worked – not that I intend to make that a regular thing, but it’s nice to know that the flexibility is there when I’m out of options.

My gardening job is very physical, and I am currently a walking mountain of jiggling flesh. My back aches and my muscles seize if I sit for too long, but I’ll get use to it; plus, it’s cheaper than a gym, so who am I to complain? I’m going to need to build some serious upper body strength if I’m going to have to trim hedges without turning to a pile of quivering mush. But, I’ve just spent $200 on tools and suitable clothes so I’m committed now; I’ll just have to tough it out.

image

“Just give the hedges a trim, thanks.”

Next week, I move in to my new house, so instead of spending my first day off resting and relaxing, I’ve spent it packing my stuff and unpacking Ex’s new stuff. I think tomorrow will be just as relaxing.

Just one member of the household is having a hard time with the changes, and that is our dear kitty, Lita. When Ex began sleeping in his garage workshop Lita was only too happy to join him every night. This ensured that she was safe from our other kitties, whom she was not to fond of (read: petrified of), and provided her with a warm bed. But then, I went away to the Cooper/Crue concert and Ex spent three nights in the house. Lita has been pretty disgruntled ever since, and although she has finally rejoined him in the garage, she still won’t let him pet her and is growling at anyone who so much as glances at her. She’ll be staying with Ex when me and the kids move, so I’m sure she’ll feel much better once she’s the only household kitty and she has her Papa all to herself.

image

Despite all my rage, I am still just a cat in a box

2 thoughts on “Employment!

  1. Why are you unpacking Ex’s new stuff? Just asking! I’m sorry for sounding like I’m bitter, but it burns me when someone can’t do the simplest things for themselves. Good luck!

    Like

    • Haha, don’t worry, I found myself asking that same question at the time. But that was just jealousy talking, because he bought all nice new things and I’ve got all the old things. Really, he was busy over the weekend, doing renovation favours for our accountant friend who saved us a small fortune and a lot of stress sorting the divorce. I unpacked his stuff and accountant friend came and helped move heavy stuff. Basically we’re all a bunch of cheapskates and will do anything to avoid paying for anything. Kind of like the Amish, but with more blasphemy.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

