We Can All be Dancing Man

I broke away from the stressy madness over the weekend and traveled to Auckland with my sister to go and see Motley Crue play for the first time in New Zealand as part of their final tour. What a brilliant show. First we were treated to NZ’s own Devilskin, who are incredible. (Seriously, check them out)

They’re just back from LA playing at the Whiskey, and had arguably the best sound of the night. Jenny Skulander’s voice is fucking amazing. I’m not ashamed to admit that I have a giant crush on her.

Next up was Alice Cooper. If I’m honest, Alice is the main reason I wanted to go. I’d seen him twice already, but I just can’t get enough of him. I adore the costume changes; ringmaster, mad scientist, mental patient. I wish I could have gotten a clearer shot of him, but my camera doesn’t cope well at concerts.

Alice Cooper - delightfully creepy, as always. But a little blurry.

Alice Cooper – delightfully creepy, as always. But a little blurry.

His band was incredible, and we were lucky enough to meet guitarists Ryan Roxie and Nita Strauss. My sister asked me how to work the camera, and then figured it out just as I was answering her. This resulted in a weird multi-chinned photo where I’m staring off in to the beyond. At least they looked good.

Don't pose for photos with beautiful people. You won't do yourself any favours.

Don’t pose for photos with beautiful people. You won’t do yourself any favours.

Motley Crue, were… well, they had their moments. They were ok. They started out with some sound issues, and a very frustrated looking Vince Neil. He can still hit all his high notes, but seemed to be struggling to hear and keep time. They got better as they went on. I was a bit disillusioned about the show – I’d heard rumours that the famous drum roller-coaster was going to be making an appearance.  It didn’t, and Tommy Lee was relegated to the back of the stage. They done an awesome cover of Anarchy in the UK (changed to USA), during which, a man behind me tapped me on the shoulder and asked me to sit down. He was promptly told to “fuck off”, and a I silently mourned the slow rotting of Punk. After the song, his friend yelled out, “Oi, sit down bro!” toward the two rows of people standing in front of him. I used the opportunity to remind him that he was at a rock concert, “bro”. After that they decided to stand as well.

People like that is why New Zealanders have a reputation of being boring audiences.

One guy, is an expectation though. I pointed him out to my sister before the show started. “That’s the guy!” she cried. She’d seen the same dude at Lynyrd Skynyrd, and we’ve since found footage of him at other concerts. He danced the whole concert, stopping only to rehydrate and to take selfies on request. This is him before the show even started. Dancing man is my hero. We should all be a little more like Dancing man.

Highlight of the whole show.

Highlight of the whole show.

Leave a Reply

