Any Opinions Seeming to be Implied by the Chicken are Completely Coincidental

The vendor of the house I would like to buy has switched real estate agencies from company M, to list exclusively through company H. Because my offer was made through M , if I ultimately purchase the house, M receives the commission.  This means company M is calling me frequently asking for updates as I work on obtaining finance. I currently still live in the same house as Ex.

Its…… interesting.

The following conversation is an example of a typical interaction with Ex.

Me: “M is calling me every second day for updates, I think they’re in a panic because if they don’t sell to me, they don’t get to sell it at all.”

Ex: “Yes they do, if you buy it within six months,  they still get the commission.”

Me: “Yes, I know. But if I don’t buy it, M doesn’t get to sell it, H does.”

Ex: *in careful, measured tones* “No, if you make a offer through H, M is still entitled to the commission.  It’s.  The. Law. ”

Me: *in equally careful,  measured tones* “I know. But if they don’t sell it to ME, they miss out on the sale.  That is why they’re calling for updates, they need ME to buy it.”

We rinse and repeat,  then he twigs to what I’m saying.

Ex: “Well why didn’t you say, “if they don’t sell it to ME,” ?”

Me: “Oh my god, I did! That is exactly what I said!”

file000854083226

Completely unrelated photo of a boy chicken

In hindsight,  here’s how I should have handled it.

Me: “M is calling me every second day for updates, I think they’re in a panic because if they don’t sell to me, they don’t get to sell it at all.”

Ex: “Yes they do, if you buy it within six months,  they still get the commission.”

Me: “oh yes, you’re right.”

2 thoughts on “Any Opinions Seeming to be Implied by the Chicken are Completely Coincidental

Leave a Reply

